Social Studies

 

Social Studies Department Members

Mr. Jonathan Abbott

Abbott.Jonathan.C@muscogee.k12.ga.us

Mr. James Bennett

Bennett.James.F2@muscogee.k12.ga.us

Ms. Ashlee Griffin

griffin.ashlee.t@muscogee.k12.ga.us

Mr. Aaron Guest

Guest.Aaron.G@muscogee.k12.ga.us

Ms. Xautyca Hall

Hall.Xautyca.N2@muscogee.k12.ga.us

Ms. Tawana Haynes

Haynes.Tawana.S@muscogee.k12.ga.us

Mr. James Henson

Henson.James.L@muscogee.k12.ga.us

Mr. Larry McQuiston, Department Chair

Mcquiston.Larry.D@muscogee.k12.ga.us

Mr. Timothy Rollier

Rollier.Timothy.J@muscogee.k12.ga.us

Mr. Clinton Wilder

Wilder.Clinton@muscogee.k12.ga.us

Why Social Studies Education Is Important To Your Child’s Future:

The Georgia Performance Standards for Social Studies were designed to develop informed Georgia citizens who understand the history of the United States and our place in an ever increasing interconnected world. It is essential that students understand their past and how that past influences the present day and the future.

To accomplish our goal of informed citizens, it is essential that social studies education:

  • Bridge essential understanding about the past to contemporary events.
  • Assist students in understanding the nature of historical inquiry and the role of primary and secondary sources.
  • Encourage the consideration of multiple perspectives on events.
  • Engage students in speculation about the known and unknown motives and actions of historic figures.
  • Integrate the strands of Social Studies.

The Social Studies Department at Spencer High School offers students a wide range of required and elective classes. Social Studies education is designed not only to teach students about our American Government and History so that they become productive citizens, but also to teach our students many of the skills needed to be successful in almost any career path. Social Studies education teaches critical and analytical thinking, research techniques, data and document analysis, and how to effectively work in groups to solve problems.

Social Studies education at Spencer examines history, geography, economics, government, psychology, sociology, religion, law, philosophy, art, literature and much more in order to develop students with a well rounded education about the role of mankind in our world. With our political and economic world becoming more interdependent each day, Social Studies education prepares our students to function in this global community.

Just A Few Careers That Benefit From Social Studies Education: 
Teaching, Business Management, Journalism, Foreign Affairs, Military, Government Service, and much more.

October 2020
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events.